Pressure Treated Wood for Subfloor Framing?

Well, I got the floor framing finished, but I didn’t use pressure treated wood. It’s really one thing after another. While reading a slew of comments and questions on various forums – especially at “small-cabin.com,” I found a lot of instruction and advice claiming that the floor framing should be built with pressure treated lumber. Anything wooden – the consensus seemed to be – within 6″-12″ from the ground, should be built with pressure treated lumber.

What happens if you use untreated lumber? I don’t know. Why do you need pressure treated if it’s protected from the elements? I don’t know. I also don’t know how much it matters, but it seemed like a setback. I asked the opinion of two experienced builders who I trust, and they both agreed it was not a big deal. I was told to paint it with an outdoor paint if I wanted to be extra careful. The major concern, I was told, is bugs not weather. If this is the case, then I’m also aware that Borax soap is something you can put on wood to keep bugs out of it.

So, I painted the subfloor framing. Moving forward.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

