Chim-chim, chéri. Look at my Dickinson P-9000.

I got the chimney on the Dickinson P-9000 marine heater installed. Drilling a 3″ hole right through my beautiful wall was an event. I got a hole saw bit and plunged right through.

The p-9000 comes with a fairly short length of flexible chimney pipe. You can buy extensions, but I like to avoid costs. I confirmed that the chimney can exit a wall horizontally, and the “deck fitting” can be screwed horizontally onto a side wall.

In fact, a representative from Dickinson sent me a photo to illustrate this point:

dickinson_p9000_vw_van_2

I love people.

dickinson_p9000_vw_bus

I want one in my Ford Festiva.

So, I squinted one eye and did what I had to do in the name of progress. I picked a spot, and drilled a big ol’ hole.

Seeing each layer of building materials come out of the hole in reverse order was novel, but what really piqued my interest was that I couldn’t get the chimney to line up with the fittings on the heater. Huh. Maybe I should have squinted both eyes, or stood back further when I was throwing darts at a board.

To fix the problem, I went to my new best friend, Rough Sawn Cypress. RSC told me to just screw a couple boards into the studs, and install the heater wherever it wanted to go. Great. So now I’m listening to objects for advice, and I haven’t even smoked any pot.

All’s well that ends well. I put more cypress in the house, and the heater didn’t land anywhere too absurd for comfort. The deck fitting doesn’t look too bad where it ended up, either.

th_dickinson1

Yep… that’ll work.

th_dickinson2

Cypress “rails” in action. Wish I used it for the whole GD wall.

th_dickinson3

School bell? No. “Deck Fitting.”

th_dickinson4

Cut a sliver of siding to slip in and shim. “Precision.”

As these photos will no doubt demonstrate, you do not need to be a skilled genius to build a tiny house. You just have to keep… moving… along.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Chim-chim, chéri. Look at my Dickinson P-9000.

  1. Lori

    I was wondering if you have had any issues with fumes/heat being so close to the soffit? We installed ours similar to what you have pictured and wondered if it is going to propose a problem. Our soffit is at a 45 degree angle though.

    • Sandwich Bear

      Since posting this, we have switched to a direct vent propane heater that vents directly through the wall behind the heater. I learned that with the Dickinson heaters, it is best to run the flue pipe as vertically as possible. Ours did not perform particularly well with a 90 degree bend. Though you CAN use them with a 90 degree bend, and they will TELL you it’s okay – in practice, vertical is better. It will probably require the $120 extension flue, unless you get creative.

      The best installation will go through the roof. I know that’s not what you probably want to hear. It’s not what I wanted to learn either, but it’s the reason we got the direct vent wall-mounted unit.

      For the record, the direct vent unit we got is 20,000 BTU and is capable of roasting us alive in the loft when it’s well below freezing outside. Even with temperatures near freezing, we would turn it down to the pilot light setting at night. Our place is 8’x12′

      Best Wishes,
      Chris

      • Lori

        Thanks for the reply Chris. What didn’t perform? Did it not keep it warm enough? We did a test run, but of course it is not cold yet, so the real test will be in winter. Our concern was how hot that flue got in a short trial run. Thanks again for your input!

Leave a Reply

