Finding Courage and Building Storage.

The house is nearly complete. Now we’re at the stage where I can chill out a little bit. Sure – there are still hurdles to hop. It’s not quite time to bury the saws – but we’re living in a tiny house.

I put up a bunch more cheap trim around stuff. It’s starting to look more finished. Kristin started painting some of the trim, and it’s starting to look great. I have barely a clue how to design and organize a space for living. I know a tiny house requires lots and lots of storage, so I’m just jamming in as many storage ideas as possible.

For the walls and roof – and windows and door and loft – I had a plan. I had measurements for every two-by-four and screw. Now I have no further direction. I didn’t make a 3-D model of interior details. These details all depend on what materials I can find for the smallest amount of money and what I’m able to find or hack together. This approach requires an open mind.

Organizing my tiny house interior demands a delicate balance, because I lack everything but an imagination. I don’t have much money or skill. My brain over-engineers at every opportunity. With no experience building tiny houses, I find myself reverting to my typical ways – I overthink every detail and take forever to get anything done. My mind is a thousand train cars with no engine. 

I have a legal pad with about 60 half-ideas spanning several pages. I need a bookshelf here; another outlet there… plenty of work to be done. But all is well. We’re cooking and cleaning and making coffee down in the tiny house. I haven’t been up to the big house too much in the past week. There will be an ongoing battle with simplification and getting rid of stuff that doesn’t fit – either physically or in a metaphorical sense. But there is sunshine on the horizon.

Me? I’m ready to do anything else. I want a totally different project. Building this house was hard as hell. It still is hard, but now I’m trying again to pace myself – or more accurately, to accept my naturally slower pace. I’m fighting to rationalize my brain from feeling too worried, hurried, or buried. I’m channelling my 17-year-old self, who was a genius. That guy reminds me: don’t take anything too seriously. If you’re not happy, then you’re taking something too seriously. Broken down to its simplest elements, yes – my life is exactly that black and white.

th_kitchen_shelves

Oak scrap shelf. Super basic.

 

th_kitchen

Wawa brand milk crate storage with stainless steel bicycle spokes bent into custom S-hooks. Awesomest version of a pot rack. Most of the cookware is camping stuff. So are the stoves.

th_wawa-crate2

We’re using the camping version of everything, which makes it all portable and miniature, which is my favorite thing ever. The crate spent years on my bicycle, and now serves a new purpose. I make coffee on a camp stove.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Finding Courage and Building Storage.

  1. I love your house! Thank you for sharing your journey, here. It IS hard work but worth it! I’ve been in my tiny house for a year now and I’ve never been happier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

